14th Annual Cycling Celebration Report

Noah Simms Bianchi Bike

The 14th Annual OCA Cycling Celebration, this year presented by La Bicicletta and CCN Bikes, will definitely be a memorable event for many as over 190 people came out to celebrate some of the fantastic accomplishments of OCA members in 2013. Over 40 Provincial Champions and Ontario Cup Series plaque recipients were in attendance to take in the event as well as 8 very deserving member voted year end award winners. 2012 Olympian Shelley Gautier also was in attendance Saturday night to take in the festivities.

One of the early highlights of the evening was a prize draw for a brand new Bianchi Bike courtesy of Bianchi Canada. Helping give out the bike were cycling legends Steve Bauer and Graham Fraser along with Bianchi Canada representative Tony Silvestri. Taking home this fantastic prize was 14 year old CSAJCC p/b Norco LG rider Noah Simms, who was ecstatic after hearing he had won. Simms wanted to ride the bike right out of the venue, almost not even waiting to see his father Kevin get recognized as  the OCA 2013 MTB Contributor of the Year.

The Simms family evening got even better when friend and MTB National Championships organizer for 2013 and 2014 Glenn Meeuwisse of Pulse Racing was awarded the MTB Organizer of the Year Award. Kevin Simms also saw one of his athletes take home an award as World Championships Silver Medalist Peter Disera was named the MTB Male Athlete of the Year Saturday night. Mikaela Kofman, whose season was highlighted by a Silver Medal at the Pan American Championships, was named the MTB Female Athlete of the Year.

On the road side, the Midweek Cycling Club was named the Road Contributor of the Year for 2013. Midweek, which runs a Learn to Race Program, weekly Criterium series, as well as numerous road and cyclo-cross events, was well represented on the evening and quite worthy of the recognition.

2013 also was a big year for young Adam Jamieson of Team CHCH-NCCH who had a number of impressive results and a Best Young Rider award under his belt and Saturday night cemented this great season by being recognized as the 2013 Road Male Athlete of the Year.

The President’s Award, which is given annually to someone who has given tirelessly to the sport of cycling in Ontario, was presented to Soigneur Race Services’ Alex Sanna. Alex even demonstrated some of this dedication by offering to bring people to the big event Saturday night.

Corry True Sport

The awards were capped off by the presentation of the very first OCA True Sport Award to Newmarket Eagles rider William Corry. The decision to present the award came on the recommendation of a member who felt William had demonstrated some of the very principles that True Sport envisions for Sport including showing an desire to excel at the sport as well as show compassion for one’s fellow competitor.

The OCA would like to once again thank everyone who came out on Saturday night as well as the many sponsors and supporters who made this evening possible by donating prizes for the OCA raffle draw. Over $1000 was raised from the draw with all proceeds going towards the Milton Velodrome, the future home of track cycling in Canada.


All 2013 Year End Award Winners

Road Organizer of the Year                             – Spinsanity Cycles

Road Contributor of the Year                         – Midweek Cycling Club

Road Male Athlete of the Year                       – Adam Jamieson

Road Female Athlete of the Year                   – Annie Forman-Mackey

DH Athlete of the Year                                    – Kyle Sangers

Tim DaSilva BMX Athlete of the Year         – Amelia Walsh

Track Athlete of the Year                                – Candice Vermeulen

CX Athlete of the Year                                     – Evan McNeely

MTB Organizer of the Year                              – Pulse Racing

MTB Contributor of the Year                          – Kevin Simms

MTB-XC Male Athlete of the Year                  – Peter Disera

MTB-XC Female Athlete of the Year              – Mikaela Kofman

Presidents Award                                               – Alex Sanna

OCA True Sport Award                                     – William Corry


Pedal Magazine write-up of the event