2014 Prov. XC Championships Reports – Smith, McNeely, Kofman and Martindill Capture Top Honours


What began as a rain filled race day through the first few start groups turned into more than sunny weather for Norco Factory Team’s Evan McNeely and Scott – 3 Rox Racing’s Mikaela Kofman. With the sun finally making its presence felt on the Horseshoe Valley Course Sunday afternoon, these two series veterans showed exactly why they are amongst Canada’s best as they each rode to victory in their respective U23/Elite races.

Kofman, who is recovering from a hand injury, showed no signs she was going to let that stand in her way as she was determined to stake claim to the provincial title. While some breaking issues did occur because of the injury and slick conditions, Kofman made sure she had some room for error as she increased her lead each lap, winning the race by just over 2 minutes. Finishing in second (and staking claim to the Top U23 Female Rider Championship Jersey) was Canadian world championships competitor Haley Smith (Norco Factory Team) followed closely by former U23 Champion Laura Bietola (Specialized Racing Canada).

The Elite/U23 Men’s race saw McNeely and Marc-Antoine Nadon (Scott-3 Rox Racing) jump out front early to be chased by McNeely’s teammate and 2013 OCA MTB-XC Male Athlete of the Year Peter Disera, as well as AWI Racing’s Jacob McClelland and Owen Sound’s Matthew Martindill. McNeely made a conscious effort to get out front early knowing the course would be feeling the effects of the earlier rain and he would not look back. Despite a valiant effort by Disera to catch his teammate, he just could not close the gap and would have to settle for second. Martindill would eventually pass Nadon and would finish the race in third, capturing the Elite Men’s Provincial Championship Jersey.

All in all the wet weather early on would not put a damper on the celebration’s and there was some great racing that took place throughout the day.

Other notable results included Paige Foxcroft (Cycle Solutions Angry Johnny’s CC p/b Norco LG) capturing the Junior Expert Women’s title while teammate Liam Mulcahy took  home top spot in the Junior Expert Men’s race. The CSAJCC p/b Norco LG would claim one more victory as the impressive season of Quinton Disera added one more piece of memorabilia as he would capture the U17 Expert Men’s Provincial Title while Erica Leonard (Team Bikeland) lead from start to finish and would capture the jersey and medal in the Women’s race.

Other Race Notes:

  • Scott-3 Rox Racing is on a very impressive run having captured the Elite Women’s Title in the last 5 Provincial Championships. Kofman captured the title as well in 2012 with teammate Amanda Sin riding to victory in 2010, 2011 and 2013.
  • The closest finish of the day saw Kevin Simms (Trek Store C.C.) capture the bronze medal in the Master Expert 45-49 category in a photo finish ahead of Ajax’s Mike Davidson.
  • Master Riders Eric Jobin (Coachchris.ca/TedVelikonja/Trudell Med.) and Jon Barnes (Trek Canada Mountain Bike Team) regained Provincial Championship Jerseys by capturing their respective categories after being held without a title in 2013.
  • Dan Souter (Apollo Bicycles), Lisa Holmgren (Velocity Cycle and Ski) and Dave Fabbro (Trek Store C.C.) captured their second consecutive Provincial Championship Titles while Linda Shin (Blacksmith Cycle) took home her third consecutive title in the Master 30-39 Women category.


Once again the OCA would like to congratulate everyone on a fantastic 2014 MTB-XC season and give praise to Ontario Cup MTB-XC Series Organizer Superfly Racing who despite some nasty weather early on, put on not just another fantastic race but a superb 2014 series.




Courtesy of Superfly Racing

Scott Ontario Cup series concludes with wet Provincial Championships at Horseshoe Resort

After a summer that wasn’t, the tumultuous weather continued for the finale to the Ontario Cup Series.  Heavy rained plagued the previous night and the entire morning of the Provincial Championships at Horseshoe Resort.  The hearty souls that braved the much-improved course had their hands full, with muddy conditions throughout the first half of the race, and overall slow conditions.

The 1:30pm Expert/Elite start needed to be extended to 1:45pm to allow the previous riders to finish, in spite of course shortening efforts from Superfly staff.  The 1:30pm start, however, dried up enough to allow riders the chance to stay on their bikes, and glimpses of the sun raised rider moral and certainly that of Evan Mcneely of Norco, who won the Elite race in an impressive time of 1:40:18.  Equally impressive in her victory was Mikaela (fudge) Kofman, taking the Elite women’s win in a time of 1:34.  Rounding out the top 3, and great overall seasons were Haley Smith (Norco) in second and Laura Bietola (Specialized Canada) in third.  Second in Elite Men’s went to Peter Disera (Norco), and an unreal ride in 3rd by Matt Martindill, the 33 year-old from Owen Sound.  Junior Expert categories saw wins from Liam Mulcahy (Angry Johnny’s CC) and Paige Foxcroft also of Angry Johnny’s.

In spite of the weather, Horseshoe Resort put on a great show and it was great to have the OCA on board to crown the overall champions of the 2014 season.  Also exciting in the youth category was the presentation of the Scott “Little Ripper/Little Rippette” bikes, awarded to the Squirt/Peewee rider that showed the most improvement over the 2014 season.  Congratulations to Brett Lancaster and Isabella Holmgren for walking away with a new bike, courtesy our awesome title sponsor, Scott Bicycles.

Superfly Racing would like to thank Scott Bicycles, Plastiglas, our other amazing sponsors, the OCA, and all our participants for being involved in the 2014 Ontario Cup season, and we look forward to an even better 2015 season!

Enjoy your fall season, and see you next year!

Sean Ruppel,

Superfly Racing